New Zealand Certificate in Avalanche Risk Management (Level 5)


Wanaka (option 1) - 29 April to 19 July 2019 (Practical 6-12 July 2019)  This option is full

Wanaka (option 2) - 8 July to 27 September 2019 (Practical 14-20 September 2019)

Methven - 10 June to 30 August 2019 (Practical 18-24 August 2019)

12 weeks including 10 weeks online learning, 1 week practical and 1 week reflection, and re-assessment if required

Classroom, online and on-snow practical study

until start date
  • Location
    Study breaks
  • Methven
    10 June 2019
  • Wanaka
    29 April 2019
  • Wanaka
    8 July 2019
Study professional avalanche risk management with the most experienced provider of avalanche education in New Zealand, in the heart of the Southern Alps.

This course provides the first level of professional training available, enabling participants to work in all sectors of the avalanche industry. 

During this course, you will firstly gain a sound understanding of underpinning theory in your own time. You will then move into solidifying these concepts in a supportive group setting during the on-snow/classroom sessions. 

The course is 12-weeks long. Ten modules will be delivered via online study for ten weeks. This will include 5, live online study sessions to answer questions and refine concepts. During this ten-week period, you will also be asked to practise on-snow skills. You will then undertake one week of practical and assessment and have one week of reflection, during which you will evaluate your next steps and complete any re-assessment as required. 

Graduates may be employed or work as volunteers under (direct or indirect) supervision, in a range of operations actively assisting in the management of avalanche hazard and risk including: ski areas, heli-ski operations, cat-skiing operations, snow-mobile operations, road contractors, alpine and other outdoor guiding and instruction operations, hunting, trekking, Department of Conservation, alpine search and rescue, and education providers.

Download the Basic Transceiver Competence Attestation

Please note: This qualification replaces our Avalanche Safety Stage 1 course.